Latvia

  • Courland, Semigallia, Latgale

  • Royal Swedish Post

  • Imperial Russian Post

  • German Occupation / Ob. Ost

  • Independent Republic of Latvia

    Exactly one week after the Compiègne Armistice, which ended the First World War, the bourgeois Republic of Latvia was proclaimed in Riga on November 18, 1918. But there was still no peace.

    Coat of arms of Latvia

    Coat of arms of Latvia
    (Image: Wikipedia)

    Stamps symbolising the return of the daughter Latgale (Latgalia) to her mother Latvija (Latvia), 1920.

    Stamps symbolising the return of the daughter Latgale (Latgalia) to her mother Latvija (Latvia), 1920.


    While the German troops withdrew from the Baltic from north to south, Soviet Russian and Soviet Latvian units followed on foot from north and east. Riga was occupied by them on January 3, 1919. Only the port city of Liepāja (Libau) with its surroundings remained in the hands of the bourgeois Latvian government.

    The Latvian War of Independence (1918–1920) involved not only bourgeois and Bolshevik, so-called "white" and "red" Latvians, but also German Free Corps, the white Russian Bermondt Army, and Estonian and Polish troops.

    With the Peace of Riga on August 11, 1920, the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR) accepted Latvia's independence, and so the building of the new state could begin.



    Four provinces – One country

    Patriotic card

    Patriotic card. Text: "Latvian flag – Latvian soil".

    Latvia's state borders with Estonia in the north and with Lithuania in the south followed the language borders. The border with the Soviet Union in the east was drawn through the former Russian-speaking governorate of Vitebsk.

    In 1920, Latvia covered 65,791 square kilometres and had a population of about 1.6 million (in 1914 over 2.5 million, in 1935 over 1.9 million). Of these, 73% were Latvians, 12% Russians, 5% Jews, just under 4% Germans, as well as Poles, Estonians and Lithuanians. The country was divided into four provinces: Vidzeme (Central Livonia), Kurzeme (Courland), Zemgale (Semgall) and Latgale (Latgalia).


    Who owns the land?

    For Latvia's agricultural development, the agrarian reform of 1920 was of utmost importance. Not only did agricultural workers and the landless receive land as their own property. Large-scale land ownership was eliminated and the German ruling class in particular was deprived of its economic basis and political influence. Around 1,300 estates with 3.7 million ha of agricultural land were subject to expropriation.


    The Territory of Latvia

    The Territory of Latvia

    (Image: Wikimedia)

    President Cakste on stamp

    President Jānis Čakste on a stamp from 1996

    Set-up with difficulties

    Latvia was initially – like most of the post-war states – constituted as a democratic-parliamentary republic. However, the Constituent Assembly could not convene until May 1, 1920, and the Constitution came into force on November 7, 1922. The parliament (Saeima) had the right to elect the president of the state and to confirm the judges. Jānis Čakste was elected as the first president.

    Of the 18 prime ministers until 1934, 12 came from the ranks of the Peasants' League. Its most important representative was Kārlis Ulmanis. He was prime minister three times and also headed the Ministries of War, Agriculture and Supply for some time. On May 15, 1934, he dissolved the Saeima after a coup d'état and established an authoritarian regime.

    President Ulmanis on stamp

    President Kārlis Ulmanis on a stamp from 2001


    Postal history

    The effects of the wars between 1914 and 1920 also remained visible in the production of stamps and in postal traffic: there were paper shortages, provisional postmarks, field post and censorship postmarks. In the Soviet-controlled areas, postcards and simple letters up to 15 g remained postage-free.

    Latvia's first stamp

    Latvia's first stamp: a rising sun with three ears of grain. Printed on the back of German general staff maps due to a lack of paper.


    Postage free letter

    Postage paid letter during the Soviet-Russian occupation from Riga to Vecsalaca, February 12, 1919. Arrival postmark of Riga from the Tsarist era.

    How do we write? What do we pay with?

    In contrast to the land reform, two other reforms can be documented philatelically: The spelling reform of 1920 and the introduction of the Lats as a gold currency in 1922 (1 Lats à) 100 Santīmu.

    Liepaja before the spelling reform

    Registered local letter from from cēsis, 1922. Place name in the date stamp in old spelling (ZEHSIS), R postmark in new spelling with CĒ. Country name initially with W, after the reform with V.

    Railwaymail

    Greeting card with railway postmark of postal wagon No. 3 on the Riga–Zilupe line, 1938.

    Mixed franking of ruble and lat currency

    Letter from Smiltene to Riga, 1922. Mixed franking of ruble and Lat currency. Postage: 9 rubles (= 18 Santīmu) + 2 Santīmi = 20 S. for a domestic letter in the 2nd weight category.

    Post and railway

    According to the "Latvijas statistikas atlass, XX" published by the Statistical Office in 1938, the number of post offices grew from 298 to 1,428 between 1919/1920 and 1936/1937. Thus, while there was initially one post office per 220 square kilometres, there was eventually one post office per 46 square kilometres. Meanwhile, the number of postal items rose from a good 16 million annually to almost 76 million.

    In 1920, the length of the passable railway network was 1,737 km, in 1937 it was 3,271 km. Railwaymail played an important role in the transport of mail within Latvia. Between 1920 and 1940, it operated on 58 diff

    Zilupe railway station, 1925

    Zilupe railway station, 1925


    Selected stamps and complete pieces

    Special postmarks

    During the 22 years of independence from 1918-1940, 21 special postmarks were used for mostly short periods.

    Special postmark 300 Liepaja 300, 1925

    Special stamp of 6 Santīmi from a set of 5 values for the 300th anniversary of the seaport Liepāja (Libau), cancelled with the special cancel 300 LIEPAJA 300, used on June 8, 1925.

    Airmail

    The surcharge for carriage by airmail within Europe was paid by means of the triangular airmail stamp of 25 Santīmu. The stamps were cancelled with the postmark of the airmail counter at the Riga Main Post Office, RIGA-LIDPASTS.

    Airmail letter, 1928

    Airmail letter from Riga to Saarbrücken (1928), transported via Berlin and Cologne

    Charity editions

    Between 1929 and 1933, a series of charity editions was issued with surcharges of up to five times the franking value.

    Charity stamp, 1931

    Registered cover from Riga Railway Post Office to Detroit in the United States of America (1931), franked with a pair of the surcharge stamp at 30+30 Santīmu for the benefit of tuberculosis prevention with portraits of the presidents ānis Čakste, Alberts Kviesis and Gustavs Zemgals

    Set cover with airmail stamps, 1333

    Registered airmail cover (1933) with the complete set of the charity issue for the benefit of the relief fund for crashed aviators of 1932; proper postage rate with 75+15=90 Santīmu

    Postal stationery

    The first Latvian postal stationery was issued in December 1922, the last in 1939. In total, there were eleven different postal stationery–postcards. Under the denomination mark it was always noted that the buyer had to pay not only the nominal value, but also 1 santīms for the paper.

    Postal stationary, 1932

    Postal stationery at 20 Santīmu (issued 1929) from a professor at the Latvian University in Riga to a colleague at the Imperial Museum of Natural History in Leiden in the Netherlands, "Uz Holande!"


    Crisis years

    The weakness of the parliamentary system with a large number of parties and the small size of the parliamentary groups in the Saeima coincided with the world economic crisis in 1929. This led to growing sales difficulties for agricultural products and thus mainly affected the agrarian majority of the population. The result was the growth of anti-parliamentary movements.

    In a coup d'état, Prime Minister Kārlis Ulmanis, supported by General and War Minister Jānis Balodis, dissolved the Parliament on May 15, 1934 and established an authoritarian regime. From 1936, Ulmanis, contrary to the constitution, combined the offices of president and prime minister.

    15 May 1939 stamp

    Stamp at 50 Santīmu from the issue commemorating the 5th anniversary of the coup d'état of 1934.

    Pictured is a procession with flags, in the foreground President Ulmanis

    Card from a Latvian camp, 1934

    Postcard to Karlis Dekens, Social Democratic deputy of the Saeima, interned in "Liepājas nometnē" (Liepāja camp) after the coup d'état in 1934. The card was censored in the camp ("Caurskatīts").


    In the grip of the great powers

    While the Baltic countries were in a calm bay of European politics between 1920 and 1936, they were then more and more caught up in the tensions between the great powers. Completely unexpectedly, the German Reich and the Soviet Union signed a non-aggression pact in Moscow on August 23, 1939. In a secret additional protocol, the two ideological opponents demarcated their spheres of interest against each other. Latvia was left to the Soviet Union: on June 17, 1940, troops of the Red Army occupied the country and ended its independence for 51 years.

    With the beginning of the German attack on Poland on September 1, 1939, mail between Germany and Latvia was censored in Königsberg.

    German Censorship Königsberg, 1939

    Letter from Riga to Berlin, 1939; censored by the foreign intelligence office in Königsberg (Prussia) with postmark "Approved by the Wehrmacht".

    Camp mail, 1940

    Postage free postcard of a Polish soldier interned in the Lilaste camp to Kielce, in the part of Poland occupied by German troops, 1940; postmark "Cenzēts" of the Latvian camp cens

    The postcard form was imprinted by the Latvian Post Office and provided free of charge to the internees.

    Last Latvia stamps, 1940

    Picture postcard from Riga to Brussels, franked with three values of the last Latvian stamp issue showing the national coat of arms, 1940, red postmark of the German censorship in Königsberg (Pr.).

  • Soviet Occupation

  • German Occupation / Ostland / Courland

  • Camp Mail / Latvians in Exile

  • Independent Republic of Latvia (restored)

  • Private Mail in Latvia

•  

Lettland

  • Kurland, Semgallen, Lettgallen

  • Königlich Schwedische Post

  • Kaiserlich Russiche Post

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ob. Ost

  • Unabhängige Republik Lettland

    Genau eine Woche nach dem Waffenstillstand von Compiègne, der den Ersten Weltkrieg beendete, wurde am 18. November 1918 in Riga die bürgerliche Republik Lettland proklamiert. Frieden gab es aber noch nicht.

    Wappen Lettlands

    Wappen Lettlands
    (Bild: Wikipedia)

    Briefmarken mit symbolischer Darstellung der Rückkehr der Tochter Latgale (Lettgallen) zur Mutter Latvija (Lettland), 1920.

    Briefmarken mit symbolischer Darstellung der Rückkehr der Tochter Latgale (Lettgallen) zur Mutter Latvija (Lettland), 1920.

    Während sich die deutschen Truppen von Nord nach Süd aus dem Baltikum zurückzogen, folgten von Nord und Ost sowjet-russische und sowjet-lettische Verbände auf dem Fuss. Riga wurde am 3. Januar 1919 von ihnen besetzt. Nur die Hafenstadt Liepāja (Libau) mit Umgebung blieb in den Händen der bürgerlichen lettischen Regierung.

    Am lettischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg (1918–1920) beteiligten sich nicht nur bürgerliche und bolschewistische, sogenannte “weiße” und “rote” Letten, sondern auch deutsche Freikorps, die weiße russische Bermondt-Armee sowie estnische und polnische Truppen.

    Mit dem Frieden von Riga am 11. August 1920 erkannte die Russische Sozialistische Föderative Sowjetrepublik (RSFSR) die Unabhängigkeit Lettlands an, und so konnte der Aufbau des neuen Staates beginnen.


    Vier Provinzen – Ein Land

    Patriotische Karte

    Patriotische Karte. Text: “Lettische Fahne – Lettischer Boden”

    Die Staatsgrenzen Lettlands mit Estland im Norden und mit Litauen im Süden folgten den Sprachgrenzen. Die Grenze mit der Sowjetunion im Osten wurde durch das ehemalige russischsprachige Gouvernement Witebsk gezogen.

    1920 umfasste Lettland 65.791 qkm Bodenfläche und zählte etwa 1,6 Millionen Einwohner (1914 über 2,5 Millionen, 1935 über 1,9 Millionen). Davon waren 73 % Letten, 12 % Russen, 5 % Juden, knapp 4 % Deutsche sowie Polen, Esten und Litauer. Das Land war in vier Provinzen eingeteilt: Vidzeme (Zentral-Livland), Kurzeme (Kurland), Zemgale (Semgallen) und Latgale (Lettgallen).


    Wem gehört das Land?

    Für die landwirtschaftliche Entwicklung Lettlands war die Agrarreform 1920 von größter Bedeutung. Nicht nur erhielten Landarbeiter und Landlose Grund und Boden als eigenem Besitz. Der Grossgrundbesitz wurde beseitigt und insbesondere der deutschen Führungsschicht ihre wirtschaftliche Basis und ihr politischer Einfluss entzogen. Rund 1.300 Güter mit 3,7 Millionen ha Agrarfläche unterlagen der Enteignung.

    Präsident Cakste auf Marke

    Staatspräsident Jānis Čakste auf einer Briefmarke aus dem Jahre 1996

    Aufbau mit Schwierigkeiten

    Lettland wurde zunächst – wie die meisten Nachfolgestaaten des I. Weltkrieges – als demokratisch-parlamentarische Republik konstituiert. Die verfassunggebende Versammlung konnte jedoch erst am 1. Mai 1920 zusammentreten, die Verfassung am 7. November 1922 in Kraft treten. Das Parlament (Saeima) besaß das Recht, den Staatspräsidenten zu wählen und die Richter zu bestätigen. Zum ersten Staatspräsidenten wurde Jānis Čakste gewählt.

    Von den 18 Ministerpräsidenten bis 1934 gingen 12 aus den Reihen des Bauernbundes hervor. Dessen wichtigster Repräsentant war Kārlis Ulmanis. Dreimal war er Ministerpräsident, außerdem leitete er zeitweise die Ministerien für Krieg, Landwirtschaft und Versorgung. Am 15. Mai 1934 löste er nach einem Staatsstreich die Saeima auf und richtete ein autoritäres Regime ein.

    Präsident Ulmanis auf Marke

    Staatspräsident Kārlis Ulmanis auf einer Briefmarke aus dem Jahre 2001


    Postgeschichte

    Die Auswirkungen der Kriege zwischen 1914 und 1920 blieben auch bei der Herstellung von Briefmarken und im Postverkehr sichtbar: es gab Papiermangel, Stempelprovisorien, Feldpost und Zensurstempel. In den sowjetisch beherrschten Gebieten blieben Postkarten und einfache Briefe bis 15 g portofrei.

    Die erste Briefmarke Lettlands

    Die erste Briefmarke Lettlands: eine aufgehende Sonne mit drei Kornähren. Wegen Papiermangels gedruckt auf der Rückseite deutscher Generalstabskarten.


    Portofreier Brief

    Portofreier Brief während der sowjet-russsichen Besetzung von Riga nach Vecsalaca, 12. Februar 1919. Ankunftstempel von Riga aus der Zarenzeit

    Wie schreiben wir? Womit bezahlen wir?

    Im Gegensatz zur Bodenreform lassen sich zwei weitere Reformen philatelistisch belegen: Die Rechtschreibreform von 1920 und die Einführung des Lat als Goldwährung im Jahre 1922 (1 Lat zu 100 Santim).

    Liepaja vor der Rechtschreibreform

    Eingeschriebener Ortsbrief aus Cēsis, 1922. Ortsname im Datumstempel in alter Schreibweise (ZEHSIS), R-Stempel in neuer Schreibweise mit CĒ. Landesname anfangs mit W, nach der Reform mit V.

    Bahnpost

    Grußkarte mit Bahnpoststempel des Postwaggons Nr. 3 auf der Strecke Riga–Zilupe, 1938.

    Mischfrankatur von Rubel- und Latwährung

    Brief aus Smiltene nach Riga, 1922. Mischfrankatur von Rubel- und Latwährung. Porto: 9 Rubel (= 18 Santim) + 2 Santim = 20 S. für einen Inlandsbrief in der 2. Gewichtsstufe.

    Post und Eisenbahn

    Laut dem durch das Statististikamt 1938 veröffentlichten “Latvijas statistikas atlass, XX” wuchs die Zahl der Postämter zwischen 1919/1920 und 1936/1937 von 298 auf 1.428. Gab es zunächst also ein Postamt auf 220 qkm, so gab es schließlich ein Postamt auf 46 qkm. Währenddessen stieg die Zahl der Postsendungen von jährlich gut 16 Millionen auf nahezu 76 Millionen.

    1920 hatte das befahrbare Eisenbahnnetz eine Länge von 1.737 km, 1937 waren es 3.271 km. Beim Transport der Post innerhalb Lettlands spielte die Bahnpost eine wichtige Rolle. Zwischen 1920 und 1940 verkehrte diese auf 58 verschiedenen Strecken.

    Bahnhof Zilupe, 1925

    Bahnhof Zilupe, 1925


    Ausgewählte Marken und Ganzstücke

    Sonderstempel

    Während der 22-jährigen Unabhängigkeit von 1918-1940 kamen 21 Sonderstempel für meist nur kurze Zeit zum Einsatz.

    Sonderstempel 300 Liepaja 300, 1925

    Sondermarke von 6 Santim aus einem Satz von 5 Werten zur 300-Jahr-Feier der Hafenstadt Liepaja (Libau), entwertet mit dem Sonderstempel 300 LIEPAJA 300, verwendet Juni 1928

    Flugpost

    Der Zuschlag für die Beförderung per Flugpost innerhalb Europa wurde entrichtet mittels der dreieckigen Luftpostmarke zu 25 Santim. Die Marken wurden mit dem Stempel des Luftpostschalters im Hauptpostamt von Riga, RIGA-LIDPASTS, entwertet.

    Luftpostbrief, 1928

    Luftpostbrief von Riga nach Saarbrücken (1928), befördert über Berlin und Köln

    Wohltätigkeitsausgaben

    Zwischen 1929 und 1933 wurde eine Reihe von Wohltätigkeitsausgaben mit Zuschlägen bis zum Fünffachen des Frankaturwertes ausgegeben.

    Wohltätigkeitsmarke, 1931

    Einschreibebrief von Riga Bahnpostamt nach Detroit in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (1931), frankiert mit einem Paar der Zuschlagmarke zu 30+30 Santim zugunsten der Tuberkulose-Forsorge mit Bildnissen der Staatspräsidenten ānis Čakste, Alberts Kviesis und Gustavs Zemgals

    Satzbrief mit Flugpostmarken, 1333

    Eingeschriebener Flugpostbrief (1933) mit dem vollständigen Satz der Wohltätigkeitsausgabe zugunsten des Hilfsfonds für verunglückte Flieger von 1932; portorichtige Frankatur mit 75+15=90 Santim

    Ganzsachen

    Im Dezember 1922 wurde die erste lettische Ganzsache verausgabt, 1939 die letzte. Insgesamt gab es elf unterschiedliche Ganzsachen–Postkarten. Unter dem Wertstempel wurde stets vermerkt, dass der Kaufer nicht nur den Nominalwert zu zahlen hatte, sondern zusätzlich 1 Santim für das Papier.

    Ganzsache, 1932

    Ganzsache zu 20 Santim (ausgegeben 1929) von einem Professor der lettischen Universität in Riga an einem Kollegen im Reichsmuseum für Naturgeschichte in Leiden in den Niederlanden, “Uz Holande!”


    Krisenjahre

    Die Schwäche des parlamentarischen Systems mit einer Vielzahl von Parteien und einer geringen Grösse der Fraktionen in der Saeima trafen 1929 auf die Weltwirtschafskrise. Diese führte zu wachsenden Absatzschwierigkeiten für Agrarprodukte und traf damit vor allem die agrarische Mehrheit der Bevölkerung. Das Anwachsen antiparlamentarischer Strömungen war die Folge.

    Mit einem Staatsstreich löste Ministerpräsident Kārlis Ulmanis, unterstützt durch General und Kriegsminister Jānis Balodis, am 15. Mai 1934 das Parlament auf und errichtete ein autoritäres Regime. Ab 1936 vereinigte Ulmanis entgegen der Verfassung die Ämter des Staats- und Ministerpräsidenten auf sich.

    Marke zum 15. Mai 1939

    Briefmarke zu 50 Santim aus der Ausgabe zum 5. Jahrestag der Staatsstreiches von 1934.

    Abgebildet ist ein Festzug mit Fahnen, im Vordergrund Staatspräsident Ulmanis

    Karte aus einem lettischen Lager, 1934

    Postkarte an Karlis Dekens, sozialdemokratischer Abgeordnete der Saeima, nach dem Staatsstreich 1934 interniert im “Liepajas nometne” (Lager Liepaja). Die Karte wurde im Lager zensiert ("Caurskatīts").


    Im Griff der Großmächte

    Befanden sich die baltischen Länder zwischen 1920 und 1936 in einer windstillen Bucht der europäischen Politik, so gerieten sie danach mehr und mehr in die Spannungen zwischen den Großmächten. Vollkommen unerwartet unterzeichneten am 23. August 1939 das Deutsche Reich und die Sowjetunion in Moskau einen Nichtangriffspakt. In einem geheimen Zusatzprotokoll grenzten die beiden ideologischen Gegner ihre Interessenssphären gegeneinander ab. Lettland wurde der Sowjetunion überlassen: am 17. Juni 1940 besetzten Truppen der Roten Armee das Land und beendeten für 51 Jahre seine Selbständigkeit.

    Mit Beginn des deutschen Angriffs auf Polen am 1. September 1939 wurde die Post zwischen Deutschland und Lettland in Königsberg zensiert.

    Deutsche Zensur Königsberg, 1939

    Brief von Riga nach Berlin, 1939; zensiert von der Auslandsnachrichtenprüfstelle in Königsberg (Pr.) mit Stempel “Von der Wehrmacht zugelassen”.

    Lagerpost, 1940

    Portofreie Postkarte eines im Lager von Lilaste internierten polnischen Soldaten nach Kielce, im von deutschen Truppen besetzten Teil Polens, 1940; Stempel “Cenztēs” der lettischen Lagerzensur.

    Das Postkartenformular wurde von der lettischen Post mit einem Aufdruck versehen und den Internierten kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt.

    Letzte Lettland-Marken, 1940

    Ansichtskarte von Riga nach Brüssel, frankiert mit drei Werten der letzten lettischen Briefmarkenausgabe mit Darstellung des Staatswappens, 1940, roter Stempel der deutschen Zensur in Königsberg (Pr.).

  • Sowjetische Besetzung

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ostland / Kurland

  • Lagerpost / Letten im Exil

  • Unabhängige Republik Lettland

  • Privatpost in Lettland