Latvia

  • Courland, Semigallia, Latgale

  • Royal Swedish Post

  • Imperial Russian Post

  • German Occupation / Ob. Ost

    From April 1915 onwards, German units gradually advanced from south to north along the Baltic coast.The port city of Libau (Liepāja) fell on May 8, 1915 and the Kurland capital Mitau (Jelgava) on August 1. In November, the River-Düna– (Daugava–) line was reached.

    Postcard 1915 German Artillery in Libau

    Picture postcard "German artillery in the streets of Libau", 1915

    It was not until the beginning of September 1917 that German forces succeeded in crossing the Düna and Riga was taken. Meanwhile, in Russia, the Tsar had abdicated in March 1916 and a provisional government had been formed. In October 1917, the Bolsheviks took power, who prioritised the conclusion of peace with Germany.

    On December 15, 1917, an armistice was concluded between the Central Powers and the Soviet government. After the non-extension of the armistice by the Soviet government, the German troops resumed their advance on February 19, 1918 and pushed further north.

    The later Estonian-Latvian border town of Walk (Valga, Valk) was already reached on February 22, 1918, and large parts of what would later become Estonia were occupied by February 24. Thus the complete territory of the later Republic of Latvia was in German hands. Under this pressure, the Soviets signed the Brest-Litovsk Peace Treaty on March 3.


    Postal area of the Oberbefehlshaber Ost (Commander-in-Chief East)

    Field postcard 1915 from Libau to Berlin

    Postage free field postcard with official cancel "Abt. für Wassertransporte des Gouvernements Libau" (Libau Governate, Water Transport Departement) sent via field post station No. 168 in Libau (Liepāja) to Berlin-Tempelhof, 1915.

    We know the administrative area of the Commander-in-Chief East of the German Army postally under the name "Postgebiet Ob. Ost". The advancing German troops initially only set up the German Field Post for use by German military personnel. Afterwards, so-called "Landespostämter" (regional post offices) were gradually established for the local civilian population, the first on January 15, 1916 in Kurland (Kurzeme), in Riga on October 22, 1917 and in the rest of Livonia on May 1, 1918.

    While some German post offices in Courland were open for almost three years, the opening time of most Livonian post offices was limited to about seven and a half months.

    For franking of postal items, a set of a total of 12 Germania stamps with overprint "Postgebiet Ob. Ost" were issued at the counters of the regional post offices.

    All mail was subject to censorship. Letters and cards sent within the postal territory Ob. Ost (on the territory of the later Republic of Latvia) were sent to the postal control centres in Libau (Liepāja), Mitau (Jelgava), Riga or Wenden (Cēsis).

    Postcard with censorship 1918 from Hasenpoth to Libau

    Postal stationery postcard from HASENPOTH (Aizpute) to LIBAU (Liepāja) with censorship cancel L in circle, post office surveillance Libau, 1918.

    In the Armistice Treaty of Brest–Litovsk of December 15, 1917, the exchange of news, newspapers and postcards was agreed upon as well. This exchange through the fronts took place at traffic points marked by white flags, e.g. on the chaussee Riga–Wenden–Walk (Rigā–Cēsis–Valka). Due to the non-extension of the armistice, this provisional exchange of mail was first interrupted on February 18, 1918, and only resumed after the conclusion of the Brest-Litovsk peace treaty.

    Two periods of postal exchange can be distinguished:

    1st period: 17.12.1917–18.02.1918, among others via the Chaussee described above.

    2nd period: 12.06.–12.11.1918 (sporadically later; denunciation in Brest–Litowsk by the Soviets on 23.11.1918)

    Postcard 1918 from Riga to Stackeln

    Postcard from RIGA to STACKELN (later Staicele in Latvia) in Livonia Governorate, Russia ( January 18 –24). The card was handed over to the Russian postal service at the "Libek" transport point on the Riga – Wenden causeway, 1918.

    With the conclusion of the peace treaty of Brest–Litowsk on 3.3.1918, the diplomatic exchange of mail between Germany and Russia was resumed; of course, no longer on the causeway described above, as the entire Baltic region was now under German occupation. Civil mail exchange for the local population via the Ob. Ost Landespostämter was only possible again from 12.06.1918.

    The official last working day of the civilian German postal service on the territory of the now proclaimed Republic of Latvia was Friday, December 26, 1918. However, internal mail processing did not end on 26.12.1918 (see e.g. the following cover).

    Letter 1918 from Riga to Berlin

    Registered letter sent from RIGA to BERLIN on December 19, 1918. Because the letter was undeliverable, it was returned to Riga on December 23, where it received an arrival postmark on December 27.

  • Independent Republic of Latvia

  • Soviet Occupation

  • German Occupation / Ostland / Courland

  • Camp Mail / Latvians in Exile

  • Independent Republic of Latvia (restored)

  • Private Mail in Latvia

•  

Lettland

  • Kurland, Semgallen, Lettgallen

  • Königlich Schwedische Post

  • Kaiserlich Russiche Post

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ob. Ost

    Ab April 1915 rückten deutsche Verbände allmählich von Süd nach Nord entlang der Ostseeküste vor. Die Hafenstadt Libau (Liepāja) fiel am 8. Mai 1915 und die kurländische Hauptstadt Mitau (Jelgava) am 1. August. Im November wurde die Düna– (Daugava–) Linie erreicht.

    Postkarte 1915 deutsche Artillerie in Libau

    Ansichtskarte "Deutsche Artillerie in den Straßen Libaus", 1915

    Erst Anfang September 1917 gelang deutschen Kräften der Übergang über die Düna und Riga wurde eingenommen. Inzwischen hatte in Russland der Zar im März 1916 abgedankt und es war eine provisorische Regierung gebildet worden. Im Oktober 1917 ergriffen die Bolschewiki die Macht, welche dem Friedensschluss mit Deutschland Vorrang einräumten.

    Am 15. Dezember 1917 wurde zwischen den Mittelmächten und der Sowjetregierung ein Waffenstillstand geschlossen. Nach der Nichtverlängerung des Waffenstillstandes durch die Sowjetregierung nahmen die deutschen Truppen am 19. Februar 1918 erneut ihren Vormarsch auf und drangen weiter nach Norden vor.

    Die spätere estnisch-lettische Grenzstadt Walk (Valk) wurde bereits am 22. Februar 1918 erreicht und weite Teile des späteren Estland bis zum 24. Februar besetzt. Damit war das ganze Territorium der späteren Republik Lettland in deutschen Händen. Unter diesem Druck unterzeichneten die Sowjets am 3. März den Friedensvertrag von Brest-Litowsk.


    Postgebiet des Oberbefehlshabers Ost

    Feldpostkarte 1915 von Libau nach Berlin

    Portofreie Feldpostkarte mit Dienststempel “Abt. für Wassertransporte des Gouvernements Libau” befördert über Feldpoststation Nr. 168 in Libau (Liepāja) nach Berlin-Tempelhof, 1915

    Das Verwaltungsgebiet des Oberbefehlshabers Ost der deutschen Armee kennen wir postalisch unter den Namen "Postgebiet Ob. Ost". Die vorrückenden deutschen Truppen richteten zunächst nur die Deutsche Feldpost zur Nutzung durch deutsche Militärangehörige ein. Erst danach wurden nach und nach für die einheimische Zivilbevölkerung sogenannte „Landespostämter“ eingerichtet, die ersten am. 15. Januar 1916 in Kurland (Kurzeme), in Riga am 22. Oktober 1917 und im übrigen Livland am 1. Mai 1918.

    Während einige deutsche Postämter in Kurland fast drei Jahre geöffnet waren, beschränkte sich die Öffnungszeit der meisten livländischen Postämter auf etwa siebeneinhalb Monate.

    Für die Freimachung von Postsachen wurde ein Satz von insgesamt 12 deutschen Germaniamarken mit Aufdruck “Postgebiet Ob. Ost” überdruckt und an den Schaltern der Landespostämter herausgegeben.

    Alle Post unterlag der Zensur. Briefe und Karten, die innerhalb des Postgebiets Ob. Ost (auf dem Gebiet der späteren Republik Lettland) blieben, wurden den Postüberwachungsstellen in Libau (Liepāja), Mitau (Jelgava), Riga oder Wenden (Cēsis) zugeführt.

    Postkarte mit Zensur 1918 von Hasenpoth nach Libau

    Ganzsachenpostkarte von HASENPOTH (Aizpute) nach LIBAU (Liepāja) mit Zensurstempel L im Kreis der Postüberwachungsstelle Libau, 1918

    Im Waffenstillstandsvertrag von Brest–Litowsk von 15. Dezember 1917 wurde auch der Austausch von Nachrichten, Zeitungen und Postkarten vereinbart. Dieser Austausch durch die Fronten fand an durch weiße Flaggen gekennzeichneten Verkehrsstellen statt, z.B. an der Chaussee Riga–Wenden–Walk (Rigā–Cēsis–Valka). Durch die Nichtverlängerung des Waffenstillstandes wurde dieser provisorische Postaustausch am 18. Februar 1918 zunächst unterbrochen und erst nach Abschluss des Friedensvertrages von Brest-Litowsk wieder aufgenommen.

    Zwei Perioden des Postaustausches sind zu unterscheiden:

    1. Periode: 17.12.1917–18.02.1918, u.a. über die zuvor beschriebene Chaussee

    2. Periode: 12.06.1918–12.11.1918 (vereinzelt später; Aufkündigung in Brest–Litowsk durch die Sowjets am 23.11.1918)

    Postkarte 1918 von Riga nach Stackeln

    Postkarte von RIGA nach STACKELN (später Staicele in Lettland) im Gouvernement Livland, Russland (18.–24. Januar). Die Karte wurde an der Verkehrsstelle “Libek” an der Chaussee Riga – Wenden an die russische Post übergeben, 1918

    Mit Abschluss des Friedensvertrages von Brest–Litowsk am 3.3.1918 wurde der diplomatische Postaustausch Deutschland–Russland wieder aufgenommen; natürlich nicht mehr an der oben beschriebenen Chaussee, da das gesamte Baltikum mittlerweiile deutsch besetzt war. Der zivile Postaustausch für die einheimische Bevölkerung über die Ober. Ost Landespostämter wurde erst wieder ab 12.06.1918 möglich.

    Der offizielle letzte Arbeitstag der zivilen deutschen Post auf dem Gebiet der inzwischen proklamierten Republik Lettland war der Freitag, der 26. Dezember 1918. Die interne Postbearbeitung endete aber nicht am 26.12.1918 (siehe z.B. der nachfolgende Beleg).

    Brief 1918 von Riga nach Berlin

    Am 19. Dezember 1918 aus RIGA abgeschickter Einschreibebrief nach BERLIN. Weil der Brief unzustellbar war, wurde er am 23.12. nach Riga zurückgeschickt und dort am 27. Dezember mit einem Ankunftsstempel versehen.

  • Unabhängige Republik Lettland

  • Sowjetische Besetzung

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ostland / Kurland

  • Lagerpost / Letten im Exil

  • Unabhängige Republik Lettland

  • Privatpost in Lettland