Estonia

  • Royal Swedish Post

  • Imperial Russian Post

    With the founding of the new capital of the Russian Empire, St. Petersburg, on May 27, 1703 at the mouth of the Neva into the Baltic Sea, Tsar Peter I made it clear that he was no longer willing to accept Sweden's claim to supremacy in the Baltic region. Instead, he sought to extend the Russian sphere of power directly to the coasts of the Baltic Sea. This was achieved as a result of the Northern War (1701–1721)..

    Map of the Russian Baltic Provinces

    Map of the Russian Baltic Provinces

    (Image: Meyers Konversationslexikon (1893-97) / Wikimedia Commons)

    The Russian Baltic provinces of Estonia, Livonia and Courland largely covered the territory of the present-day republics of Estonia and Latvia. The Russian Baltic province of Estonia, on the other hand, only comprised the northern part of present-day Estonia, while its southern part was not administered from Reval (Tallinn), but as part of the province of Livonia from Riga. It was only with the division of Livonia along the Estonian-Latvian language border in 1918 that the territory of the present-day Republic of Estonia came into being.

    Map of the Estonian Governorate

    Map of the Estonian Governorate

    (Image: Map from 1820 / Wikimedia Commons)

    Map of the Livonian Governorate

    Map of the Livonian Governorate

    (Image: Map from 1820 / Wikimedia Commons)


    Postal system in Russia from 1710

    On November 25, 1710, the Governor General of Livonia ordered the reopening of postal routes and stations in Livonia and Estonia. Until 1712 these were operated by Cossacks, from 1713 by the Estonian and Livonian knighthood, and occasionally also by peasants. Since the latter had received the right to dispose of the majority of the revenue in return for maintaining the postal routes and stations, the situation arose over constant conflicts between the "private shareholders" and the Russian state (postal) administration over a period of 181 years (1713-1894). These conflicts only ended in 1894 with the increased centralisation and russification of the postal administration in the Baltic provinces (establishment of postal agencies and offices).


    First postmarks

    Reval postmark

    Reval postmark
    Hurt/Ojaste No. 56:1

    Initially, mail items were marked exclusively by handwriting. It was not until 1796 that Dorpat (Tartu) introduced the first postmark, followed by Reval (Tallinn) from 1799. These postmarks were only used by the post offices (in the district towns).

    Dorpat postmarks

    Dorpat postmarks
    Hurt/Ojaste No. 16:1

    With the postal reform of 1830, it was specified that postmarks were used at the postal stations and special arrival stamps at the post offices. The resulting postmarks in Estonia are very diverse. There were only eleven post offices in Estonia: the governorate post office in Reval (Tallinn), the district post offices in Arensburg (Kuresaare), Dorpat (Tartu), Fellin (Viljandi), Hapsal (Haapsalu), Pernau (Pärnu), Walk (Valga), Werro (Võru) and Wesenberg (Rakvere) as well as the post offices in Jewe (Jõhvi) and Narwa (Narva). These so-called "pre-philatelic" postmarks, used before the issue of Russia's first postage stamp on January 1, 1858, remained in use until around 1870. 1870 to indicate the place of departure and destination of a postal item.

    The stamps introduced in 1858 were (additionally) cancelled with a so-called "dot number stamp".

    Dot number stamp

    Dot number stamp, used 1858 – 1877 (Hurt/Ojaste Type 2).

    Usage: Governorate post offices: circular, District post offices: square, Border post offices (did not occur in Estonia): oval, Other post offices: hexagonal, Post stations: triangular.

    From 1860 onwards, however, date-circle stamps produced according to a uniform pattern were used throughout the empire for the first time:

    Letter 1864 from Reval to Pernau with date-circle postmark

    Letter with date-circle postmark of 18.9.1864 with stamp Russia Mi No. 5 from Reval to Pernau


    Before philately? - Without stamps from Rotterdam to Pernau


    The issue of the first stamp in Great Britain on May 6, 1840 marked the beginning of philately, the love of franking in all its forms. Mail had of course existed for a long time before that, but letters on paper with postmarks had not been around for quite so long. Let us take a closer look at such a letter "without stamps", exemplary for an incoming mail in the Imperial Russian period:

    The envelope (ex Reinhard Heinrich), shown somewhat smaller, is a typical folded letter of the time, recognisable by the fold marks and the red dry seal with which the letter was sealed.

    We know nothing about its contents. Perhaps it was an order or a companion letter, sent overland in parallel with a shipload. The company that sent it no longer exists. According to the handwritten note, the letter was dispatched on December 15, 1856. with the oval sender's stamp "Th. C. Le Gué Rotterdam" and posted on the same day, apparent by the red single-circle postmark of the Rotterdam post office. The addressee was the trading house Hans-Dietrich Schmidt in Pernau/Russia (today Pärnu, Estonia), which existed from 1741 to 1940.

    The first noticeable postmark is "Emmerich Oberhausen 16 12". (a part is visible at the bottom, the rest now at the top due to the unfolding of the letter). This is a Prussian railway postmark, which proves that the letter was transported by the most modern and fastest means of transport at that time, the train. The letter was transported further overland through Prussia to Russia, as shown by the blue Prussian "2/3" and the brown Russian "10" marks. Those marks show that the Dutch, Prussian and Russian postal administrations claimed their respective shares of the letter tax, the transport fee. But more on this below.

    Another rectangular transit stamp attracts attention, in Cyrillic letters and in Russian: "POLUCHENO 7. DEKAB.", i.e. "RECEIVED 7. DEZB.". But wait!? Mail leaving Rotterdam on December 15 and arriving in Riga on December 7? How does that work? Well, the different calendars at the time made it possible for a letter to "arrive before it was sent": In large parts of Europe, the Gregorian calendar named after Pope Gregory XIII had already been used since the 16th century (1582), while in Russia the Julian calendar named after Julius Caesar was still in use until 1918 (February 1 was then followed by February 14, 1918). In the 19th century, the difference between the calendars was 12 days, with the Julian calendar "lagging behind" the Gregorian. According to the Gregorian calendar, therefore, the letter arrived in Riga on (7+12=) December 19.

    Already the following day it reached Pernau with the two-circle postmark "8 Dec." documented; this means that the letter actually took from Rotterdam to Pernau from December 15 to (8+12=) 20 (in the Gregorian calendar), i.e. only 6 calendar days. By the way, this is not faster today either, despite airmail ...

    Unlike today, the postage was paid by the recipient. The exchange rate here was 3 Silbergroschen = 10 Kopecks. For the route in the Netherlands, 2 Silbergroschen were charged, which were converted to 6 ½ kopecks. For the transit through Prussia another 3 Silbergroschen had to be paid. Another 10 kopecks were charged for the transport route in Russia. The Schmidt company in Pernau therefore had to pay a total of 26  ½ kopeks, as the black handwritten note also shows.

    All in all, a "talking" envelope, full of interesting information, even without stamps. But not a "pre-philatelic" letter, instead a so-called "postage letter", where the addressee had to pay the postage afterwards; in contrast to a "franco letter", where the sender paid the franco in advance.

    What cannot be reproduced in a picture, however, is the sensual experience of holding such an old piece of paper in one's hands, making the story that much more vivid.


    Letter from Reval 17.9.1880 (29.9.1880) via St. Petersburg (18.9.1880) to Helsingfors (1.10.1880)

    Another example of the time difference of 12 days between Julian and Grogorian calendars in the 19th century: Russian postal stationery Michel U 28A from Reval Sept. 17, 1880 (29.9.) via St. Petersburg Sept. 18, 1880 (reverse side) to Helsingfors/Helsinki with arrival postmark ANK (Ankunft) 1.10.


    Railwaymail

    The railway post offices and their route stamps were a special chapter between 1870 and 1918, as they were not subordinate to the imperial post office in the Tsarist empire, but were organised independently of it as a railway postal administration. For Estonia, the railway post office in St. Petersburg was responsible.

    Postcard from Dorpat (Tartu) railway post office to Hamburg

    This postal stationery postcard (Michel Russia P4) was mailed on May 12, 1879 from Dorpat (railway post office cancel Hurt/Ojaste 2:1) to Taps (railway post office cancel Hurt/Ojaste 16:3 for route no. 89) to Hamburg.

    Incidentally, the card is addressed to Prof. Dr. Wladimir Köppen (1846–1940), the doyen of German climate research and then head of section at the German Naval Observatory.

    Wide-gauge lines

    Between 1870 and 1904, the wide-gauge lines, which were important throughout the empire, were built and put into operation, before the narrow-gauge lines, which were only of regional importance, were started between 1896 and 1903. A characteristic feature of both was that they were initially planned, built and operated largely with private capital, before at least the wide-gauge lines were nationalised later on.

    Map of Postal Routes in Estonia 1881

    Historical Map of Postal Routes in Estonia 1881

    (Image: Map from 1881 / Retromap – Sergei Tarasov)

    The following wide-gauge (1524 mm gauge) railway lines were opened in Estonia:

    1870 Baltischport – Reval – Gatschina (Paldiski – Tallinn – Gatshina)
    1876 Taps – Dorpat (Tapa – Tartu)
    1899 Dorpat – Walk – Pleskau (Tartu – Valga – Pskov)
    1904 Keila – Hapsal (Keila – Haapsalu)


    Letter from Ecks (Äksi) to Dorpat (Tartu) by train

    Postal item as evidence for the use of the wide gauge line Taps (Tapa) – Dorpat (Tartu): Postage paid parish letter from the pastor at Ecks (Äksi) only a few km north-northwest of Dorpat (Tartu) to the pastor at St. Peter's there. Cancellation postmark of May 12, 1877, Hurt/Ojaste 15:3.

    Narrow-gauge lines

    Opening of narrow gauge lines (750 mm gauge) in Estonia:

    1896 Walk – Moiseküll – Pernau (Valga – Mõisaküla – Pärnu)
    1897 Moiseküll – Fellin (Mõisaküla – Viljandi)
    1900 Fellin – Tallinn (Viljandi – Tallinn)
    1903 Walk – Mõniste – Stockmannshof (Valga – Mõniste – Stukmani/Plavinas)
    1916 Walk – Alt-Schwanenburg (Valga – Vecgulbene)

    Postcard from Walk to Laisholm by train

    Postal item dated November 19, 1917 to Laisholm (Laiuse) / Lais station (Jõgeva), used on the narrow-gauge railway line from Alt Schwanenburg to Walk, with route cancel Hurt/Ojaste 39:1.

    The line is south of Walk, so it had to be transferred to the wide-gauge line Walk – Dorpat and there in the direction of Taps to get to Lais station. For this, the card was on its way for 3 days.


    Value letters


    The value letter shown here for 43,000 rubles displays the highest known Russian letter franking in Estonia until 1917: 65.10 rubles.

    This amount is made up of 61 rubles for the insured amount of cash in the letter plus 1.40 rubles for the sealing wax and 2.70 rubles for the registered letter.

    Value letter over 43,000 rubles from Jurjev to Riga

    Letter of value (money) for 43,000 rubles from Jurjev (Dorpat/Tartu) in Livonia -4 5 17 to Riga -5 5 17.

    Value cover over 43,000 rubles from Jurjev to Riga reverse side

    The postage was paid with 9 stamps at 7 rubles (Mi 56y), 2 stamps at 1 ruble (Mi 77Axb) and 1 stamp at 10 kopecks (Mi 69IAb).


    World War 1

    Silent postmarks – often not silent

    The beginning of World War I brought great changes to the entire Baltic region. In the beginning, for security reasons, the Post tried to disguise the place of departure of a message by means of so-called " silent postmarks".

    However, this quickly proved to be less successful when - as here - the sender in Allenküll (Türi) openly wrote his place of residence underneath and began his letter with "Terviseid Türilt" = "Greetings from Türi", which is why the measure did not have a long life.

    Postcard with silent postmark from Turkey

    Silent postmark Türi (Allenküll), Hurt/Ojaste No. 3, on postcard dated August 31, 1914 (13.9.1914 according to Gregorian calendar) to Jurjev/Dorpat/Tartu

    Postcard with silent postmark from Türi reverse side

    The picture side did not help either to disguise the sender: the "Türi paper factory, Estonia" sends its regards...

    Occupation of Estonia

    The area of present-day Estonia remained spared from direct warfare for a relatively long time during the First World War. It was not until October and November 1917 that German army and navy units occupied the Estonian Baltic islands, and at the end of February 1918 the Estonian mainland, largely without a fight.

  • German occupation / Ob. Ost

  • Independent Republic of Estonia

  • Soviet occupation

  • German occupation / Ostland

  • Camp Mail / Estonians in Exile

  • Independent Republic of Estonia (restored)

  • Private Mail in Estonia

•  

Estland

  • Königlich schwedische Post

  • Kaiserlich russische Post

    Mit der Gründung der neuen Hauptstadt des Russischen Reiches, St. Petersburg, am 27. Mai 1703 an der Mündung der Newa in die Ostsee machte Zar Peter I. deutlich, dass er den Vormachtanspruch Schwedens im Ostseeraum nicht länger bereit war zu akzeptieren. Vielmehr trachtete er danach, den russischen Machtbereich unmittelbar bis an die Küsten der Ostsee auszudehnen. Dies gelang im Ergebnis des Nordischen Krieges (1701–1721).

    Karte der russischen Ostseeprovinzen

    Karte der russischen Ostseeprovinzen

    (Bild: Meyers Konversationslexikon (1893-97) / Wikimedia Commons)

    Die russischen Ostseeprovinzen Estland, Livland und Kurland umfassten weitgehend das Staatsgebiet der heutigen Republiken Estland und Lettland. Die russische Ostseeprovinz Estland hingegen umfasste nur den nördlichen Teil des heutigen Estland, während dessen südlicher Teil nicht von Reval (Tallinn), sondern als Teil der Provinz Livland von Riga aus verwaltet wurde. Erst mit der Teilung Livlands entlang der estnisch-lettischen Sprachgrenze entstand 1918 das Staatsgebiet der heutigen Republik Estland.

    Karte des Gouvernements Estland

    Karte des Gouvernements Estland

    (Bild: Karte von 1820 / Wikimedia Commons)

    Karte des Gouvernements Livland

    Karte des Gouvernements Livland

    (Bild: Karte von 1820 / Wikimedia Commons)


    Postwesen in Russland ab 1710

    Mit dem 25. November 1710 verfügte der Generalgouverneur Livlands die Wiedereröffnung der Postrouten und -stationen in Livland und Estland. Bis 1712 wurden diese durch Kosaken betrieben, ab 1713 durch die estnische und livländische Ritterschaft, vereinzelt auch durch reichsfreie Bauern. Da diese im Gegenzug für den Unterhalt der Postrouten und -stationen das Recht erhalten hatten, über den Großteil der Einnahmen zu verfügen, entspannen sich über 181 Jahre (1713-1894) ständige Konflikte zwischen den „privaten Anteilseignern“ und der staatlichen russischen (Post-)Verwaltung, die erst 1894 mit der stärkeren Zentralisierung und Russifizierung der Postverwaltung auch in den Ostseeprovinzen endeten (Einrichtung von Postagenturen und -stellen).


    Erste Stempel

    Stempel aus Reval

    Stempel aus Reval
    Hurt/Ojaste Nr. 56:1

    Die Kennzeichnung von Postsendungen erfolgte zunächst ausschließlich handschriftlich. Erst ab 1796 führte Dorpat (Tartu) den ersten Poststempel ein, gefolgt von Reval (Tallinn) ab 1799. Diese Stempel verwendeten nur die Postämter (in den Kreisstädten).

    Stempel aus Dorpat

    Stempel aus Dorpat
    Hurt/Ojaste Nr. 16:1

    Mit der Postreform von 1830 wurde vorgeschrieben, dass in den Poststationen Poststempel und in den Postämtern besondere Ankunftsstempel verwendet werden. Die daraufhin gefertigten Poststempel in Estland sind sehr unterschiedlich. An Postämtern gab es derzeit in Estland nur elf: Das Gouvenements-Postamt in Reval (Tallinn), die Kreispostämter in Arensburg (Kuresaare), Dorpat (Tartu), Fellin (Viljandi), Hapsal (Haapsalu), Pernau (Pärnu), Walk (Valga), Werro (Võru) und Wesenberg (Rakvere) sowie die Postämter in Jewe (Jõhvi) und Narwa (Narva). Diese sogenannten „vorphilatelistischen“, weil bereits vor Ausgabe der ersten Briefmarke Russlands am 1. Januar 1858 verwendeten, Stempel blieben bis etwa 1870 in Gebrauch, um den Abgangs- und Zielort einer Postsendung zu bezeichnen.

    Die 1858 eingeführten Briefmarken wurden (zusätzlich) mit einem sogenannten „Punkt-Nummernstempel“ entwertet.

    Punktnummernstempel

    Punkt-Nummernstempel, verwendet 1858 – 1877 (Hurt/Ojaste Typ 2).

    Verwendung: Gouvernements-Postämter: kreisförmig, Kreispostämter: viereckig, Grenzpostämter (kam in Estland nicht vor): oval, Sonstige Postämter: sechseckig, Poststationen: dreieckig.

    Ab 1860 fanden aber auch erstmals reichsweit nach einheitlichem Muster hergestellte Datum-Kreisstempel Verwendung:

    Brief 1864 von Reval nach Pernau mit Datum-Kreisstempel

    Brief mit Datum-Kreisstempel vom 18.9.1864 mit Marke Russland Mi Nr. 5 von Reval nach Pernau


    Vor der Philatelie? – Ohne Briefmarken von Rotterdam nach Pernau


    Mit Ausgabe der ersten Briefmarke in Großbritannien am 6. Mai 1840 beginnt die Philatelie, die Liebe zu Frankaturen in all ihren Erscheinungsformen. Post gab es natürlich schon lange davor, Briefe auf Papier mit Stempeln noch nicht ganz so lang. Einen solchen Brief "ohne Briefmarken" wollen wir uns hier einmal, exemplarisch für eine eingehende Post in der kaiserlich-russischen Zeit, näher betrachten:

    Der Briefumschlag (ex Reinhard Heinrich), etwas verkleinert dargestellt, ist ein für damalige Zeiten typischer Faltbrief, erkenntlich an den Faltspuren und dem roten Trockensiegel, mit dem der Brief verschlossen war.

    Über seinen Inhalt wissen wir nichts. Vielleicht war es eine Bestellung oder ein Begleitbrief, der parallel zu einer Schiffsladung auf dem Landweg versandt wurde. Das absendende Unternehmen existiert heute nicht mehr. Der Brief wurde ausweislich des handschriftlichen Vermerks am 15. Dezember 1856 mit dem ovalen Absenderstempel „Th. C. Le Gué Rotterdam“ versehen und noch am selben Tag zur Post gegeben, ersichtlich an dem roten Einkreisstempel des Postamtes Rotterdam. Empfänger war das Handelshaus Hans-Dietrich Schmidt in Pernau/Rußland (heute Pärnu, Estland), das von 1741 bis 1940 bestand.

    Als Durchgangsstempel fällt zunächst der Stempel "Emmerich Oberhausen 16 12“ auf (ein Teil ist unten sichtbar, der Rest durch die Entfaltung des Briefes nun oben). Dabei handelt es sich um einen preußischen Bahnpoststempel, der den Transport des Briefes mit dem damals modernsten und schnellsten Transportmittel, dem Zug, belegt. Der Brief wurde weiter über Land durch Preußen nach Russland transportiert, was der blaue preußische Vermerk "2/3“ und der braune russische Vermerk "10“ zeigen. Darin erkennen wir die jeweiligen Anteile der Brieftaxe, der Transportgebühr, welche die niederländische, die preußische und die russische Postverwaltung für sich beanspruchten. Doch dazu unten mehr.

    Ein weiterer rechteckiger Durchgangsstempel fällt auf, in kyrillischen Buchstaben und auf Russisch: „POLUCHENO 7. DEKAB.“, also „EMPFANGEN 7. DEZB.“. Doch halt!? Postabgang am 15. Dezember in Rotterdam und Posteingang in Riga dann am 7. Dezember? Wie geht das denn? Nun, die damals noch unterschiedlichen Kalender machten es möglich, dass ein Brief "ankam, bevor er abgesandt wurde“: In weiten Teilen Europas wurde bereits seit dem 16. Jahrhundert (1582) der nach Papst Gregor XIII. benannte gregorianische Kalender verwendet, während in Russland noch bis 1918 der nach Julius Caesar benannte julianische Kalender galt (dem 1. Februar folgte damals der 14. Februar 1918.). Im 19. Jahrhundert betrug der Unterschied zwischen den Kalendern 12 Tage, wobei der julianische Kalender dem gregorianischen „hinterher hinkte“. Nach gregorianischem Kalender gelangte der Brief also am (7+12=) 19. Dezember nach Riga.

    Bereits am folgenden Tag erreichte er Pernau mit dem Zweikreisstempel „8. Dez.“ dokumentiert; das heißt, dass der Brief tatsächlich von Rotterdam bis Pernau vom 15. bis zum (8+12=) 20. Dezember (im gregorianischen Kalender), also nur 6 Kalendertage benötigte. Das geht heute übrigens auch nicht schneller, trotz Flugpost ...

    Das Porto zahlte – anders als heute – der Empfänger. Der Verrechnungskurs betrug hier 3 Silbergroschen = 10 Kopeken. Für die Route in den Niederlanden wurden 2 Silbergroschen berechnet, die zu 6 ½ Kopeken umgerechnet wurden. Für den Transit durch Preußen waren weitere 3 Silbergroschen zu entrichten. Nochmals 10 Kopeken fielen für den Transportweg in Russland an. Die Herren Schmidt in Pernau hatten also ingesamt 26 ½ Kopeken zu zahlen, wie es der schwarze handschriftliche Vermerk auch ausweist.

    Alles in allem ein "sprechender“ Briefumschlag, voll interessanter Informationen, auch ohne Briefmarken. Aber eben kein "vorphilatelistischer“ Brief, sondern ein sogenannter "Portobrief“, bei dem der Adressat das Porto im Nachhinein zu entrichten hatte; im Gegensatz zu einem "Francobrief“, bei dem der Absender das Franco im Vorhinein entrichtete.

    Was man allerdings nicht im Bild wiedergeben kann, ist das sinnliche Erleben, ein so altes Stück Papier in den Händen zu halten und die Geschichte dadurch noch viel lebendiger werden zu lassen.


    Brief aus Reval 17.9.1880 (29.9.1880) über St. Petersburg (18.9.1880) nach Helsingfors (1.10.1880)

    Ein weiteres Beispiel für den Zeitunterschied von 12 Tagen zwischen julianischem und grogorianischem Kalender im 19. Jahrhundert: Russische Ganzsache Michel U 28A aus Reval 17. Sept. 1880 (29.9.) über St. Petersburg 18. Sept. 1880 (Rückseite) nach Helsingfors/Helsinki mit Ankunftstempel ANK 1.10.


    Bahnpost

    Ein besonderes Kapitel bildeten zwischen 1870 und 1918 die Bahnpostämter und ihre Streckenstempel, da diese im Zarenreich nicht der Reichspost unterstanden, sondern als Bahnpostverwaltung von dieser unabhängig organisiert waren. Für Estland war die Bahnpostabteilung in St. Petersburg zuständig.

    Postkarte vom Bahnpostamt Dorpat (Tartu) nach Hamburg

    Diese Ganzsachen-Postkarte (Michel Russland P4) lief am 12. Mai 1879 auf der Strecke von Dorpat (Bahnpostamtsstempel Hurt/Ojaste 2:1) nach Taps (Bahnpost-Streckenstempel Hurt/Ojaste 16:3 für Strecke Nr. 89) nach Hamburg.

    Die Karte ist übrigens adressiert an Prof. Dr. Wladimir Köppen (1846–1940), dem Doyen der deutschen Klimaforschung und damaligen Sektionschef an der Deutschen Seewarte.

    Breitspurlinien

    Zwischen 1870 und 1904 wurden zunächst die reichsweit bedeutenden Breitspurlinien gebaut und in Betrieb genommen, bevor zwischen 1896 und 1903 die nur regional bedeutsamen Schmalspurlinien in Angriff genommen wurden. Für beide kennzeichnend war, dass sie zunächst weitgehend mit privatem Kapital projektiert, gebaut und betrieben wurden, bevor im weiteren Verlauf zumindest die Breitspurlinien verstaatlicht wurden.

    Karte des Postrouten in Estland 1881

    Historische Karte der Postrouten in Estland 1881

    (Bild: Karte von 1881 / Retromap – Sergei Tarasov)

    In Estland wurden folgende Bahnlinien mit Breitspur (1524 mm Spurweite) eröffnet:

    1870 Baltischport – Reval – Gatschina (Paldiski – Tallinn – Gatshina)
    1876 Taps – Dorpat (Tapa – Tartu)
    1899 Dorpat – Walk – Pleskau (Tartu – Valga – Pskov)
    1904 Keila – Hapsal (Keila – Haapsalu)


    Brief vom Ecks (Äksi) nach Dorpat (Tartu) per Bahn

    Poststück als Beleg für die Nutzung der Breitspurlinie Taps (Tapa) – Dorpat (Tartu): Portofreier Kirchspielbrief vom Pastor zu Ecks (Äksi) nur wenige km nordnordwestlich von Dorpat (Tartu) an den dortigen Pastor zu St. Petri. Streckenstempel vom 12. Mai 1877, Hurt/Ojaste 15:3.

    Schmalspurlinien

    Eröffnung von Schmalspurlinien (750 mm Spurweite) in Estland:

    1896 Walk – Moiseküll – Pernau (Valga – Mõisaküla – Pärnu)
    1897 Moiseküll – Fellin (Mõisaküla – Viljandi)
    1900 Fellin – Tallinn (Viljandi – Tallinn)
    1903 Walk – Mõniste – Stockmannshof (Valga – Mõniste – Stukmani/Plavinas)
    1916 Walk – Alt-Schwanenburg (Valga – Vecgulbene)

    Postkarte von Walk nach Laisholm per Bahn

    Poststück vom 19. November 1917 nach Laisholm (Laiuse) / Station Lais (Jõgeva), gelaufen auf der Schmalspur-Bahnstrecke von Alt Schwanenburg nach Walk, mit Streckenstempel Hurt/Ojaste 39:1.

    Die Strecke liegt südlich von Walk, es musste also umgeladen werden auf die Breitspurlinie Walk – Dorpat und dort in Richtung Taps, um zur Station Lais zu kommen. Dafür war die Karte auch 3 Tage unterwegs.


    Wertbriefe


    Der hier gezeigte Wertbrief über 43.000 Rubel zeigt die höchste bekannte russische Brieffrankatur in Estland bis 1917: 65,10 Rubel.

    Dieser Betrag setzt sich zusammen aus 61 Rubel für die versicherte Summe Bargelds im Brief sowie 1,40 Rubel für den Siegellack und 2,70 Rubel für den eingeschriebenen Brief.

    Wertbrief über 43.000 Rubel von Jurjev nach Riga

    Wert- (Geld-) -brief über 43.000 Rubel aus Jurjev (Dorpat/Tartu) in Livland -4 5 17 nach Riga -5 5 17.

    Wertbrief über 43.000 Rubel von Jurjev nach Riga Rückseite

    Das Porto wurde entrichtet mit 9 Marken zu 7 Rubel (Mi 56y), 2 Marken zu 1 Rubel (Mi 77Axb) und 1 Marke zu 10 Kopeken (Mi 69IAb).


    1. Weltkrieg

    Stumme Stempel – oft nicht stumm

    Der Beginn des 1. Weltkrieges brachte große Veränderungen für das gesamte Baltikum mit sich. Anfangs versuchte die Post aus Sicherheitsgründen, mittels sogenannter "stummer Stempel" den Abgangsort einer Nachricht zu verschleiern.

    Das erwies sich aber rasch als wenig erfolgreich, wenn - so wie hier- der Absender in Allenküll (Türi) seinen Wohnort offen darunter schrieb und seinen Brief auch gleich mit "Terviseid Türilt" = "Grüße aus Türi" begann, weshalb der Maßnahme auch keine lange Lebensdauer beschieden war.

    Postkarte mit stummem Stempel aus Türi

    Stummer Stempel Türi (Allenküll), Hurt/Ojaste Nr. 3, auf Postkarte vom 31. August 1914 (nach gregorianischem Kalender 13.9.1914) nach Jurjev/Dorpat/Tartu

    Postkarte mit stummem Stempel aus Türi Rückseite

    Auch die Bildseite trug nicht gerade zur Verschleierung bei: die "Papierfabrik Türi, Estland" lässt grüßen...

    Besetzung Estlands

    Das Gebiet des heutigen Estland blieb während des Ersten Weltkrieges relativ lange von unmittelbaren Kriegshandlungen verschont. Erst im Oktober und November 1917 besetzten deutsche Heeres- und Marineverbände die estnischen Ostseeinseln und Ende Februar 1918 weitgehend kampflos das estnische Festland.

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ob. Ost

  • Unabhängige Republik Estland

  • Sowjetische Besetzung

  • Deutsche Besetzung / Ostland

  • Lagerpost / Esten im Exil

  • Unabhängige Republik Estland

  • Privatpost in Estland